Thread

Info panel matter to make me nervous

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Info panel matter to make me nervous // Bugs

1  |  

Post by SHOEACH // Sep 23, 2008, 2:13am

SHOEACH
Total Posts: 3
Hi. I’m posting here for the first time with my heart pounding.:)


I’m now practicing TS7.6 through “Workspace Organics Modeling” course.

I found that this course is a very good resource for practicing latest TS.

However, only four seconds from 1:56 to 2:00 of Chapter 1.3 “Image Template” has made me nervous very much now.

When I click & drag on the green (X axis) arc and rotate the plane until it is upright, my “info panel” doesn’t work as my expectation. .

That is, the rotation value of X axis is not "-90.000" but "-89.865".

And BB Size of Y axis (which should change to “0.000”) still shows "6.000" and BB Size of Z axis shows same "0.000" not "6.000".:(

The screen image is appended.


Are these bugs? Otherwise, is it my setting mistake of something?


Any advice would be appreciated.



Syuichi

Post by brotherx // Sep 23, 2008, 2:41am

brotherx
Total Posts: 538
pic
I've noticed this as well. It's as if there are rounding errors or something when you're doing plane rotation.


I wouldn't worry too much about it, just click on the y and change to 90.

Post by Electric Jim // Sep 23, 2008, 6:15am

Electric Jim
Total Posts: 98
Regarding the BB Size values: It is my understanding that they are always given in terms of the object's own coordinate system, not the world coordinate systerm. So rotating the object won't have any effect on them, because you are rotating the object's axes along with the object itself.


Do this as an experiment: Use the Axis tool to display the object's axes (i.e., its pivot point widget). Click and drag on the standard manipulation widget's rotation arcs (as you did before), and see that the axis widget rotates right along with the object's geometry, so that relative to its own axes the object's size components haven't changed.


Now, click and drag on one or more of the rotation arcs of the axis (pivot point) widget itself, to rotate the axes while leaving the object's geometry unchanged. You will see that the BB Size values update, because as the axes rotate, the object's projection along each axis changes.


The attached composite pic shows what I'm talking about. In the top view, I just rotated the object as a whole (with its axes visible). The axes rotated with it, so the BB Size entries stayed at their original 12.0/4.0/0.0 values. In the bottom view, I then rotated the axes without rotating the object as a whole, and the BB Size values changed.


I hope this helps. :)

Post by brotherx // Sep 23, 2008, 6:26am

brotherx
Total Posts: 538
pic
I'd always assumed that regarding the size but if you make a new scene, drop a plane onto it and turn on snap, then rotate it, it should snap in 15 degree intervals as default...except it stops on 89.whatever degrees instead when you're trying to get 90 degrees. not sure if it's the same for a cube or other primitives.

Post by Electric Jim // Sep 23, 2008, 6:38am

Electric Jim
Total Posts: 98
Hmmm, interesting. I just tried it, and it snapped to the proper 15 degree increments, including 90 degrees. (I haven't really played with Workspace-side grid snapping before, and I see that unlike Model-side, the object does drag through the in-between values, but it just sort of "sticks" at the snapping points. I think I like this way better than the old, Model-side method, which jumped directly from increment to increment. Seems more flexible.)


In case it matters: Just to try to keep things simple, I unchecked the "Offset" check box and selected "World" from the "Coordinates" drop-down. I'll try playing with it a little more, and if I get any weird or inexplicable behavior I'll report it.


EDIT: Well, first somewhat weird thing: After fiddling with the settings a bit and performing some rotations, I find that under certain circumstances I do get the "discrete jumping" behavior, rather than the "continuous-but-sticky" behavior. I think it has to do with choosing one of the explicit selections ("World" or "Local", rather than "Default") from the "Coordinates" drop-down, but having a different coordinate system selected for the rotation itself (i.e., in the basic tS toolbar). I'm guessing this behavior is deliberate, and I just need to do some learning about the subtleties of Workspace grid snaps... (I should probably start with precisely what the "Offset" fields control.) :)

Post by SHOEACH // Sep 23, 2008, 1:08pm

SHOEACH
Total Posts: 3
Hi, brotherx and Electric Jim.

Thanks for your concern to this matter.:)


After this, concerning X angle it seems you should type it directly in the “Info panel” space.

And I learnt that BB Size reads its value of object's own coordinate system, not the world coordinate system.


Still, for my part, it’s regrettable that the Info panel of TS7.6 doesn’t work well because that of TS7.51 works appropriately.



Syuichi

Post by brotherx // Sep 24, 2008, 12:20am

brotherx
Total Posts: 538
pic
Ok, I can confirm the following:

If you set co-ordinates to world, it works with care. if you move the mouse quickly, or eratically, it tends to go crazy. See the attached video clip I did. New scene. cube. rotate.


It's not the info panel that has the problem, it looks like the roate/snap combination.

Post by transient // Sep 24, 2008, 3:18am

transient
Total Posts: 977
pic
Hmmm, interesting. I just tried it, and it snapped to the proper 15 degree increments, including 90 degrees. (I haven't really played with Workspace-side grid snapping before, and I see that unlike Model-side, the object does drag through the in-between values, but it just sort of "sticks" at the snapping points. I think I like this way better than the old, Model-side method, which jumped directly from increment to increment. Seems more flexible.)


I actually prefer it the standard way. I don't like having to look at the info panel to make sure the object has snapped properly, or is a few degress out.


It would be nice if this could be optional - does anybody know if there's any way to change it?

Post by trueBlue // Sep 24, 2008, 6:09am

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
In the Snapping/Advance settings try setting the Angle Snapping Threshold to 100.
Defaults shown here.

Post by SHOEACH // Sep 24, 2008, 12:37pm

SHOEACH
Total Posts: 3
If you set co-ordinates to world, it works with care. if you move the mouse quickly, or eratically, it tends to go crazy. See the attached video clip I did.I appreciate your making the video for this matter purposely.


In the Snapping/Advance settings try setting the Angle Snapping Threshold to 100.

Rounding error trouble of X axis was solved. :jumpy:

Thank you very much for your help.



Syuichi

Post by transient // Sep 25, 2008, 2:43pm

transient
Total Posts: 977
pic
Thanks TB.:)

Awportals.com Account

Top Worlds

Upcoming Events

Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2019. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn