Thread

Truespace Lost 18MB of information!

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Truespace Lost 18MB of information! // Bugs

1  |  

Post by ivampretti // Dec 30, 2008, 4:22pm

ivampretti
Total Posts: 151
pic
Its the second time I lost my work saved on the HD because the TS wasnt closed normaly.


The first time an error message closed my TS, My work was saved a library (that should mean that my work is safe because Librarys manipulate files in the HD). The second one was about 5 min ago a blackout here at home. Again the same problem I lost all my work saved in a library with a file in the HD. I tried to save to equal files in the same librarys, both files were corrupted. I saved an Object of my character in a diferent library, even the object was corrupted!


The files preserved the thumbnail and a same 6.868 KB file that doesnt open! As the original file was a 18 MB then I conclued that I lost information! The file was a character with the all things: Morphs, Skeleton, Locks, Mapped texture.


Whats going on? Is this something Im doing wrong or its a impruvement that can be done?

Post by ivampretti // Dec 31, 2008, 5:03am

ivampretti
Total Posts: 151
pic
I beat that TomG knows what is going on and that Trueblue have the solution for it :D


Guys Im needing this, Im feeling so insecure :(:(:(

Post by TomG // Dec 31, 2008, 6:36am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
Check your Recycle Bin. Whenever tS overwrites a file, it "deletes" the old one and it shows up in the Recycle Bin and can be restored from there, and that might give you your scene back.


On a critical scene, always have at least two copies of it. I like to do this for backtracking, in case something happens that Undo doesn't undo and I need to step back in time. I usually keep a numbered sequence, and this means losing one file for whatever reason (forgot to save, power outage, did something destructive that I later decide I don't like, etc) is not catastrophic. If you don't want the whole numbered sequence, just use two files, and save to them alternatively (save to A, save to B, save to A, save to B), and then you always have one previous copy in case of corruption.


If you're not worried about destructive edits etc, you can just save twice to both A and B, though I do recommend the alternating method, just in case something gets in a tangle.


There may be autosave plugins out there too, I forget if someone made one for the workspace side or not. Meantime, the recycle bin might save the day, so long as you haven't emptied it. I had a crash while saving (I saved as soon as I loaded, but had missed a dialog box about a missing texture - on crashing from the missing texture, it left an empty scene in place of my full one, but I retrieved the full one from the recycle bin, so should work in your situation also).


PS - this only applies to workspace libraries, not Model side libraries.


HTH!

Tom

Post by ivampretti // Jan 1, 2009, 12:35pm

ivampretti
Total Posts: 151
pic
yeah Tom, you are right, there are files in the trash! But its not the last saving! I lost my latest changes and they were not that simple! I alredy do the sequency saving files. But what worries me is the fact that TS doesnt save the latest saving operation even when I do the Replace RsScene.


What happen is that I do the replace but seems that if the TS is not closed properly the information is lost, the last replace doesnt take effect! Isnt there something that can be made about it?

Post by TomG // Jan 5, 2009, 3:23am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
As far as I know this only happens if tS crashes or freezes during the save, which is (again as far as I know) very rare - and any problem occuring during a save in any software will affect the save.


I've not seen where you can do the replace, then minutes later have a crash, and the replace has not taken effect, certainly nothing repeatable has been reported on that. As far as I know, so long as the replace completes and has no crash during the process, it should be fine and should indeed be committed to disk, regardless of what happens to tS after that.


Now, it's not true that your tS set up will be commited - eg if you change settings, move toolbars, open a scene, change what libraries are shown, then have an abnormal exit, tS will revert to before all those changes (something that I find irritating and I've mentioned to developers ;) ). Basically, once I have tS set up the way I like it for what I'm working on, I close it and reopen it to commit those changes.


But that's entirely separate from the saved files, though - those are committed immediately.


HTH!

Tom

Awportals.com Account

Top Worlds

Upcoming Events

Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2019. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn