problems with fillets

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

problems with fillets // TS6 and Older

1  |  

Post by armin // Jul 20, 2006, 4:27pm

armin
Total Posts: 4
I just got started with TS (6.6) and ran right away into some problems with the fillet tool. For some reason I can't apply a fillet to the whole length of an edge -

see attachment (red circle). I always get this little step on either side of the fillet. It works just as expected on concave edges ... maybe someone can give me a hint on how to solve this problem.

I actually tried to model this shape different in the first place (see double picture). I was able to get the fillet properly into the notch by using boolean

subtraction with the appropriate shape, but this way I'm having problems to get the fillet to work on the edge of the top face.

I hope the attached pictures explain my problem.

Post by Bobbins // Jul 20, 2006, 11:02pm

Bobbins
Total Posts: 506
First question: is the top surface of that object planar? If the vertexes do not lie in the same plane the fillet algorithm will struggle.

Post by mmakrzem // Jul 21, 2006, 12:34am

mmakrzem
Total Posts: 17
Have you tried sketching out your shape with the draw panel and then extruding it downward to give it depth?

Post by stan // Jul 21, 2006, 6:23am

stan
Total Posts: 1240
pic
Bobbins..the inside edge issue is easy to reproduce..boolean subtraction was the right solution..

armin..try this tsx, it comes in very handy ..Mr. Tylman's site is down [also the tsx is now open source] so he shouldn't mind it being posted here..

there is no undo with the plugin so remember to do tests on a copy of your work....hth :cool: Gord

Post by Bobbins // Jul 21, 2006, 11:33am

Bobbins
Total Posts: 506
Fortunately, this is very easy to fix. The fillet tool is only using tS booleans to operate so open the fillet options panel (right click the fillet icon) and lower the 'Boolean fix' value - this can be done in real time to see the result. If any stray vertices remain (one is visible in my screen shot) select that vertice and delete it. Sometimes it also helps to change the 'Base plane' to perpendicular depending on the mesh being filleted.


Edit: odd, I only saw Stan's reply after I'd posted this even though his response was a while before mine. He had the right idea with lowering the boolean fix value.

Post by armin // Jul 21, 2006, 5:18pm

armin
Total Posts: 4
Thanks a lot guys for all your help. I was finally able to finish this

shape. After changing the "Boolean Fix" settings to "0" it worked.

I still had a problem with one fillet - see attached screen shot - , there

are three V shaped cutouts and one of them did not want to take the

fillet. Not until I added an extra edge to the adjacent faces (see red

circles), but after that it worked (just deleted the edges after filleting).

For the top and bottom face fillet I had to increase the "Boolean Fix"

settings, I think a value of 5 or 10 did it - can't remember me now.


Mmakrzem, as far as creating all those fillets before extruding ... well this was actually my first intention, but since I am trying to work with precise

dimensions, and since I'm very new to TS it seemed to be a little

bit tedious to achive.


Thanks again guys for all your help. It definately was a big step forward

for me.
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2022. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn