Heightfield generation????

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Heightfield generation???? // TS6 and Older

1  |  

Post by Forester // May 22, 2007, 9:51am

Forester
Total Posts: 11
Probably a dumb question. Is there anyway I can generate a 3d object from a black and white heightfield map? Am just looking for something like a simple extrusion.:jumpy:

Post by rrf // May 22, 2007, 11:52am

rrf
Total Posts: 319
On the Workspace side (after you have Sub D'd a surface a couple of times)- displacement map, then, in the rt hand stack, Cntrl click twice to load any bitmap


Hope this helps,

rf


ps Are you the 'Forester' who does all the great 3D stuff ? (water and waterfalls)

Post by rrf // May 22, 2007, 12:04pm

rrf
Total Posts: 319
Oh, and try the 'Displacement Brush'. You can also get a bitmap to 'run' that too - just click 'Custom Profile' then dbl click as before in the blank square (in the Panels Stack under Displacement Brush)


Again, hope this helps,


rf

Post by jayr // May 22, 2007, 1:00pm

jayr
Total Posts: 1074
pic
there was a plugin called truescape that did that exactly. i made the sand in my bunker pic with it:

http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=2461


not sure where you get it from now, i'll have a look around.

Post by jayr // May 22, 2007, 1:10pm

jayr
Total Posts: 1074
pic
looks like you used to be able to get it from here:

http://www.digitalflux.com/


but they don't sell it any more

Post by Nez // May 22, 2007, 11:14pm

Nez
Total Posts: 1102
pic
I've had some fun in the past with tsxtruder, which is still available free at the following link:


http://www.bendys.com/3d/tsxtruder/tsxtruder.html


Might be worth trying out but no guarantee it will work, depending which version you are on; I think it worked for me on version 4.3 but struggled with TS5 as I recall.

Post by Tiles // May 22, 2007, 11:43pm

Tiles
Total Posts: 1037
pic
The Cool Powers 2 suite has also such a feature with the displaceatplace tool. Works in TS 6.6. Haven't tested it in TS 7.5 modeler though :)

http://www.coolpowers.com/projects/freecp/originfo/cp2/coolpowers2_info_overview.html

Post by TheWickedWitchOfTheWeb // May 23, 2007, 2:14am

TheWickedWitchOfTheWeb
Total Posts: 858
pic
Try here: http://ckgamefactory.hp.infoseek.co.jp/tsxe/truedisp.html


This very topic was covered just over a month ago. You can read the thread here: http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?p=27065#post27065

Post by Forester // May 23, 2007, 10:22am

Forester
Total Posts: 11
Hello, and thanks for the advice, all you good folks.


Yes, I did read that earlier post before I posted the question, and had no luck with any of those earlier suggestions.


The Vue terrain extrusion produced poor results. (Tried the same thing in Bryce, since it works a little better, but a full day of trying with those two programs didn't do it.) Spent 3 days on this so far with about every heightfield program out there. No go. The old tsxExtruder used to work great for this, but it won't work in any recent version of TS. (And this is sooooo frustrating - such a little thing and just a set of pure black and white images......):p


Just got my "registration code" for ckgamefactory tsxDisplacement, but with no instructions on how to actually register the code into the plugin, so I'm still waiting on this "tactic."


Am now going to try try TS7.5 brush, and thank you very much for the explanation of what to do with it. This is the great thing about this Forum - lots of good suggestions.


Yes, I am that Forester, but obviously am not that good at these things. (However, I hope it will warm all your hearts to know that this little job can't be done in Maya 8.5 Unlimited, either!)

Post by Délé // May 23, 2007, 10:36am

Délé
Total Posts: 1374
pic
You have 7.5? I figured you were looking for a way to do this in 6.6 or older. 7.5 has native displacement mapping. So you can just use your grayscale map to generate displacement.

Post by Steinie // May 23, 2007, 12:24pm

Steinie
Total Posts: 3667
pic
Forester,

Check out SteveBe's little demo:


http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=3054


I'm sure you'll find it interesting

Post by rrf // May 23, 2007, 12:42pm

rrf
Total Posts: 319
Forester,


In the CK set click on the 'Magnet' tool - it should come up with the registration area.



I've got some of your stuff - it's Great! Glad to have the chance to Thank You personally!


rf

Post by rrf // May 23, 2007, 12:46pm

rrf
Total Posts: 319
I was also wondering about the heightfield generation software listed in Cornucopia (under Tools, I think ) - have you tried it?


rf

Post by 3dvisuals dude // May 24, 2007, 6:05pm

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
Just got my "registration code" for ckgamefactory tsxDisplacement, but with no instructions on how to actually register the code into the plugin, so I'm still waiting on this "tactic."

Hi Forester,

When you load the trueDisplacement tsx into trueSpace you will see a little icon for it with an isometric view of a blue landmass. Right click on that icon and enter your Game Factory Registration Code that Chikara hopefully already sent you. You will only need to do this once.

His plugins sometimes require hunting through several icons and right-clicking as you go, but one of them always works for the registration process. ;)

Enjoy -

- 3dvisuals dude
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2022. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn