Named bones

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Named bones // TS6 and Older

1  |  

Post by Tawhano // Jun 28, 2007, 4:58am

Tawhano
Total Posts: 4
I am using TrueSpace 5.2 to create a skinned avatar for a 3D program that requires the bones and associated skin to be named in a certain fashion. I was told that when I create a bone that I can simply rename it in the object dialog box. What I find is that all bones are under the name ‘skeleton’ and I can’t work out how to name each individual bone. Any one here know how that is done?

Post by Norm // Jun 29, 2007, 4:16am

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
I believe the Scene Editor is best place to rename complex structures like bones. In the Scene Editor you can expand objects and get easy access to individual bones and such. See if the Scene Editor fits the bill for you.
Hope this is helpful.

Post by Tiles // Jun 29, 2007, 6:44am

Tiles
Total Posts: 1037
pic
Yup. Scene Editor is the place. One place :)


Select your skeleton. Press the Arrow down Button at your keyboard to enter the hierarchy. Now you should have the first bone in your skeleton selected. Open the Object Info Panel by rightclick at the arrow button. Here you can rename it now in the object name field. Then press enter.


With the arrow buttons you can navigate to other bones too, or also joints, and rename them as you need it. Clicking at an element to select it should also work in TS 5, but has its flaws in 6.6 and up though when i remember correct ...

Post by RichLevy // Jun 29, 2007, 6:54am

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
Scene Editor is a good way... or if the skeleton is not too complicated you can just use the WS side Info Panel.

Select your rig,

Select the DynaPose Tool,

now click on a joint/bone on your rig.

In the Info panel the name of the joint/bone will come up,

just rename it what you want.


I use this method all of the time, helps to keep the WS interface less cluttered with fewer windows open.


Rich

Post by Tiles // Jun 29, 2007, 7:09am

Tiles
Total Posts: 1037
pic
He uses trueSpace 5.2 ;)

Post by Tawhano // Jul 2, 2007, 2:50am

Tawhano
Total Posts: 4
I’m guessing from Tiles’ response and the fact that I couldn’t find this Scene Editor that 5.2 doesn’t have it. Thanks for your responses though.

Post by RichLevy // Jul 2, 2007, 3:34am

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
He uses trueSpace 5.2 ;)


uhhh... that is a different animal :D


Rich

Post by spacekdet // Jul 2, 2007, 7:19am

spacekdet
Total Posts: 1360
pic
The 'Scene Editor' in tS 5 is called the 'Keyframe Editor'.
It's location is indicated in the following image:
7232

Post by Tiles // Jul 2, 2007, 10:28pm

Tiles
Total Posts: 1037
pic
Seems that this issue is still unclear. Let's give it a shot :)

http://reinerstileset.4players.de/ext/renamebone.jpg

This is from TS 6.6. But should be equal to TS 5 in most points.

As told, there are two places where you can rename your bones. In the Object Info panel (right click at the arrow button to open it). Select your bone, and simply rename it then in the "Name" line.

Or in the Scene Editor. Expand the hierarchy ( right click at the Skeleton, then choose Expand/collaps), choose your bone by clicking at it. When it turned blue, wait a short moment and click again. Now it becomes editable. Then rename it :)

I guess the short moment you have to wait to click again is the pitfall why rarely somebody notices that you can rename stuff in the Scene Editor. But you can also simply right click at the bone and choose rename :p

Post by Tawhano // Jul 3, 2007, 2:39am

Tawhano
Total Posts: 4
Thank you people so much. I knew there was an easy answer to my problem and it was driving me up the wall that I couldn’t see it.


I have the Object window up but when I select a bone the name showing is always ‘Skeleton’. Is there an icon I need to be sure is active before I select a bone to see the name in the Object window?

Post by Tiles // Jul 3, 2007, 2:51am

Tiles
Total Posts: 1037
pic
Select your skeleton. Press the Arrow down Button at your keyboard to enter the hierarchy. Now you should have the first bone in your skeleton selected. Open the Object Info Panel by rightclick at the arrow button. Here you can rename it now in the object name field. Then press enter.

A skeleton is the top of a hierarchical object. And so you need to enter the hierarchy to reach its sub pieces when you want to rename them for example :)

Post by Tawhano // Jul 3, 2007, 3:13am

Tawhano
Total Posts: 4
Thank you Tiles, I must have missed this bit of information or misunderstood it the first time around.
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2022. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn