ts5.1 SP 2 = global object replace?

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

ts5.1 SP 2 = global object replace? // TS6 and Older

1  |  

Post by theuns // Aug 20, 2007, 12:04am

theuns
Total Posts: 519
pic
Scenario: I have a village scene that uses a lot of low poly palm leafs but i now want to relpace these with better looking palm leafs... there are hundreds of them now! :)


is there such an option in trueSpace 5.1 or if not, a plug-in to do this?

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Aug 21, 2007, 12:18am

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
Hi Theuns,

Hopefully someone here who is familiar with your trueSpace version will help you with this soon, but in the meantime it occured to me that there are a few free tools in the way of trueSpace plugins which might work for you with this.

The ones I am thinking of are called "Coolpowers" and are available at the following link (note that CP2 and CP3 are the ones that may help):

http://freecp.sourceforge.net/

Hope that helps,

- 3dvisuals dude

Post by theuns // Aug 21, 2007, 12:25am

theuns
Total Posts: 519
pic
I do have coolpowers 2 and 4 but didn't see anything there, will have a look at cp 3... tnx 3d :)

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Aug 21, 2007, 1:41am

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
I do have coolpowers 2 and 4 but didn't see anything there, will have a look at cp 3... tnx 3d :)

Try the "hoser" and "multiplex" options in cool powers, not sure which CP versions though, but I know CP3 has at least one of them.

Not exactly a global replace tool like in TS6.6, but may suffice for making the job easier in the absence of a similar tool in your current TS version.

Good luck!

- 3dvisuals dude

Post by Nez // Aug 24, 2007, 6:31am

Nez
Total Posts: 1102
pic
If you have cool powers 4 (the free one) there's 'swappo' but it's not entirely reliable and could be a bit slow, but might be worth trying (but make sure you've saved everythign first).

I think there was a ckgamefactory plug-in called 'clone' that did what you're after, but I don't have a copy (and can't be certain that was the name or source since their page has gone down). Someone else may know more about that...

Post by mpire // Aug 24, 2007, 11:55am

mpire
Total Posts: 6
Is it "ShapeClone"?


From the Readme:

HOW TO USE:


This tSX replaces object at rendering time.


Clone Object: Object that is replaced with an original at the rendering time.

Original Object: Original object.

Size: Size of a clone is changed.

Apply: The parameter of ShapeClone is set up to Clone Object.

Disable: TSX becomes ineffective.



Should be attached to this post.

Post by theuns // Aug 26, 2007, 9:58am

theuns
Total Posts: 519
pic
thanks guys, i'll try both and see which works better... I'll let you know :)
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2022. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn