How do I make objects reflect others?

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

How do I make objects reflect others? // TS6 and Older

1  |  

Post by KevW // Nov 5, 2007, 11:06am

KevW
Total Posts: 14
Hello,

I'm using TS5 and I can't get any reflections in anything I make.

I downloaded a .cob file the other day that someone had placed on the web, and when I rendered it there were surfaces that reflected all the other objects.

I've tried recreating this in a new scene using similar objects but with the same colour and texture, and the same lighting, but it just won't work.

Is there some setting somewhere to make objects have a reflecting surface?

Thanks.

Kev.

Post by hultek43 // Nov 5, 2007, 11:12am

hultek43
Total Posts: 234
In the material settings panels there is one for reflectance...This should be where to start looking. hth

Post by opiejuan // Nov 5, 2007, 11:32am

opiejuan
Total Posts: 120
pic
Hey KevW,

It's been a while since I used tS5, but I believe there is an icon in the render control group where you can toggle ray tracing on or off (upper right corner of the screen?). It's kind of hard to tell if raytracing is enabled because the icon is a light green and if enabled there is a white border on the icon image. Needless to say, ray tracing must be enabled for reflections to work.


Hope this helps,

Post by spacekdet // Nov 5, 2007, 7:08pm

spacekdet
Total Posts: 1360
pic
Opie is correct, you have to enable raytracing to get reflections.
Plain-jane Background images don't reflect correctly, you need a surrounding scene/objects to show up on the reflective object.
You'll also need to 'Render Scene' or 'Render a portion of the scene'- reflections don't show up if you only render a single object.
9423

Post by KevW // Nov 6, 2007, 7:49am

KevW
Total Posts: 14
Opie is correct, you have to enable raytracing to get reflections.9423


Hey, what d'ya know. I've got reflections! Thanks everyone. I didn't realise that you had to have the 'Enable Raytracing' icon visible AND turned on. You're right about it being difficult to tell the difference too, especially when you're colour blind! Darn thing looks the same to me whichever way it's clicked.


Thanks again and thanks for the diagram spacekdet. I'll add it to my evergrowing folder of How to's.


Kev

Post by Nez // Nov 7, 2007, 1:59am

Nez
Total Posts: 1102
pic
Opie is correct, you have to enable raytracing to get reflections.

Plain-jane Background images don't reflect correctly, you need a surrounding scene/objects to show up on the reflective object.

You'll also need to 'Render Scene' or 'Render a portion of the scene'- reflections don't show up if you only render a single object.

9423


Spacekdet - thanks, your image also helped me out with something! I'd forgotten about the raytrace settings panel which allows you to adjust the reflectance threshold (default at 0.1) - I'd recently being trying to get some very slightly reflective surfaces and wondered why I was getting reflections at 0.1 but not at 0.9...

Mind you, even if I put the threshold down to 0.01, I can only get visible reflections down to about 0.6 - do I need to adjust one of the other values to do better than that? I maybe I just need to use a differnet reflectance shader....
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2022. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn