Node.Move()

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Node.Move() // Scriptorium

1  |  

Post by stan // May 29, 2007, 8:41am

stan
Total Posts: 1240
pic
Node.Move() doesn't work very well, it removes everything in side it when moved, why :confused: is that how it's suppose to work :confused: deletimg the contents of what you move


Moves the object
Parameters:
idName – full name of the source object
vOwner – full name of the new owner object (the source object will be moved there)
newName – returns full name of the moved object
Example: Move object
Node.Move('/Project/Space 3D/Cube', '/Project/Space 3D/MyGroup')

Post by Wigand // May 31, 2007, 8:40am

Wigand
Total Posts: 462
pic
Could you post an example. I never tested this, still waiting for a manual...

Post by trueBlue // May 31, 2007, 8:58am

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
Confirmed what Stan is saying.
Example:

Post by stan // May 31, 2007, 10:51am

stan
Total Posts: 1240
pic
thanks for the example and confirmation trueblue :) , its too bad it didn't work in 7.11 either. it would be perfect for making an 'add to encapsulation' tool :(

Wigand, its in the ts7 dev guide..things that still showup in the 'add new attributes' droplist of the ts7.5 SE should work..this isn't the first one that doesn't..just hoping the devs take note and fix it..;)

Post by trueBlue // May 31, 2007, 11:32am

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
Maybe this is a wrong example assuming you copied from Developer's Guide. I do note that Node.Move(var, var,) --> var and the last var is not in example. But that looks like newName. I dunno.

Post by stan // May 31, 2007, 11:48am

stan
Total Posts: 1240
pic
trueblue..the --> var ..would be the name of a var or not needed, I think it also can show there is an outcome.. ie.. in this case that the node was moved ;) [although empty]

Post by Emma // Jun 1, 2007, 6:14am

Emma
Total Posts: 344
pic
if you take an object "Cube" and run this sample

....

pipifax = Node.Move("..../Cube", "..../Bimmelbahn");

....

System.Alert(pipifax);


you'll get "Cube, 1" and not "Bimmelbahn"


Disconnecting some Aspects like the Matrix Aspect before running Node.Move gives you funny results as for example an empty node inside LE where almost all Aspects are shown as empty and grey inside the Node block. Thus there can't be shown anything in Model or Player/Workspace.

I did already try different scenarios with this and gave up, hoping that upcoming DevGuide will show corrections for this, as I see it, bug.

Post by stan // Jun 1, 2007, 4:35pm

stan
Total Posts: 1240
pic
so everyone agrees it doesn't work..it's definitely a BUG :(

hope it gets fixed for the service pack ;)
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2024. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn