architectural walkthrough avi files ?

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

architectural walkthrough avi files ? // Architecture

1  |  

Post by manxie // Oct 21, 2007, 11:34am

manxie
Total Posts: 76
pic
Hi all I am about to produce a walkthrough for my web site (architectural visuals) and am not 100% sure as to the format i should use for web site inclusion and as to resolutions. PLEASE HELP...

I have included a light setup vray (non textured )visual to show the type of image we are producing. thanks Manxie...:D

Post by Jack Edwards // Oct 21, 2007, 12:45pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Hi Manxie,

SWF format seems to be the most common/universal for websites.

WMV is viewable by users that keep their Windows Media Player updated and produces the best quality vs. compression ratio. To make WMVs, download a copy of Windows Media Encoder from Microsoft's website.

I also recommend XVid:
http://www.xvid.org

and (less common)

x264
http://www.x264.nl/

To use the last two you'd need to put a link to the decoders on your website with the video.

You're likely best option is to render out your image as still frames, then you can encode your image to more than one format and then let your user decide which to download. :)

Also another bit of advice that I recommend is to render out to twice the frame rate you need for your final animation. That way you'll get a smoother animation when the frames are resampled down to the final frame rate.

I'm sure the others will have useful advice as well. :)

Post by manxie // Oct 21, 2007, 12:59pm

manxie
Total Posts: 76
pic
Hi Jack, if I render at twice the frame rate, can I still use motion blurring?? sorry I havnt had much practice with truespace for anims, many thanks again for your help and advice..manxie

Post by Jack Edwards // Oct 21, 2007, 1:10pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
I'm not aware of a motion blur feature for TS rendering. My double frame approach is in effect a "poor mans" motion blur. ;)


With VRay you can use Chaos Group's IRmap editor to combine your IRmaps to create one big IRmap to use for your walkthrough, that way you save the need to calculate the GI for each frame of the animation. You may have to contact Chaos Group or Caligari directly to get the editor though since I don't see it for download from the website anymore and I don't think it's included with the TS VRay install.

Post by manxie // Oct 21, 2007, 1:32pm

manxie
Total Posts: 76
pic
cheers jack, also I am guessing by some of the other T.S.forums that T.S. 7.51 + vray does not support animated textures, so i cant have tv's showing animated vids etc? or animated backgrounds, as yet. so I guess I will have to create a background dome, or what about using H.D.R.I. backgrounds? and how do they work with irmaps ???:confused:

Post by Jack Edwards // Oct 21, 2007, 1:46pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
If you're going to use a skysphere or skybox, you'd need to calculate your GI (IRmap) without the skysphere, then put it back when doing the render.


HDRI works well and the image displays in the background if you enable that option. Watch the memory usage with HDRI though.


An Irmap is when you save the GI calculation to a file. You need the Irmap editor to combine irmaps.


To animate your textures you can use this script that Dele created:

http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=3267

Post by manxie // Oct 21, 2007, 2:06pm

manxie
Total Posts: 76
pic
Jack, one more question? what resolution would you suggest ie:320x240? also: as you know one heck of a lot about TS animation setups, can you hop on a plane to the Isle of Man and do the walkthroughs for me??? cheers:D

Post by Jack Edwards // Oct 21, 2007, 2:44pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
LOL Knowledge isn't practical experience though. I'm not an animator guy, just picked up info along the way. ;)


Resolution depends on how much bandwidth you want to use. I think 640x480 would better show off your work and most people have broadband now a days. You could still have lower resolution versions available as well.


To give you an idea, using Windows Media Encoder, I'm finding that I can get WMV files at 1024x768 to compress to 1MB per minute of video with audio included. That's approximately 17k/s which I think can even be supported over dialup. :)

Post by manxie // Oct 21, 2007, 3:34pm

manxie
Total Posts: 76
pic
Jack this render is at 640x480, and is plenty big enough for my web site anims thank you. Manxie..:D

Post by Jack Edwards // Oct 21, 2007, 8:04pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
You're welcome! Beautiful renders by the way. :D

Post by manxie // Nov 7, 2007, 9:51am

manxie
Total Posts: 76
pic
Hi Jack


thanks for your comments, here is a render with textures applied, I seem to have a problem with vray rendering, I seem to be getting damp above the window (not my doing ) and odd shadows, any suggestions would be appreciated..

Post by manxie // Nov 7, 2007, 11:41am

manxie
Total Posts: 76
pic
Here is an earlier render, without vray GI, and glass in the windows, notice the difference in shadows near the plant ie darker surrounds ??!! :confused:

Post by Jack Edwards // Nov 7, 2007, 1:01pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
If by odd shadows you mean cast by the glass, then that is a known bug that occurs when transparent shadows is enabled.


The blotchiness in your GI, can be (hopefully!) solved by increasing your HemiSamples value.


Let me know if that helps.

Post by Scala3D // Nov 8, 2007, 4:22am

Scala3D
Total Posts: 157
pic
Wow, looks great to me. Nice work!!
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2022. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn