Visible indicator of selected object in Scene View

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Visible indicator of selected object in Scene View // Feature suggestions

1  |  

Post by spacekdet // Oct 6, 2008, 1:08pm

spacekdet
Total Posts: 1360
pic
How about a visible indicator in Scene View that highlights the currently selected object?
As it is, if you select an object in the 3D window, there's no way to tell in Scene View what you have selected.

Post by transient // Oct 6, 2008, 2:01pm

transient
Total Posts: 977
pic
I think this is a good idea as well.

Post by RichLevy // Oct 6, 2008, 4:10pm

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
I like the idea also.


Rich

Post by Electric Jim // Oct 8, 2008, 2:18am

Electric Jim
Total Posts: 98
Yes, the currently-selected object must be clearly-indicated in whichever view you're working with. This is why I'm a bit sad that the old "selection cage" -type of widget from Model-side isn't supported in Workspace. It always made it clear which objects were currently selected in the 3D view. In workspace, to get such an unambiguous indication, we have to turn on the polygon highlighting option (I forget what it's actually called) for "objects" (as opposed to "subobjects" or "none"), and that can be a bit distracting/overwhelming in some cases. (I certainly wouldn't want to eliminate that option, as it can be very useful. But a less obtrusive option like the selection cage would be nice, as an alternative.)


On a related subject: I believe I remember some situations in which selecting an object in one view or window did not necessarily select it in all others. (I seem to recall experiencing this when working with the animation editor and the 3D window at the same time, though I should probably verify this.) This might be something on which people's opinion varies, based on each individual's own personal workflow, but I'd prefer that selecting an object in one view or window selects it in all views & windows. If my memory is correct on this, then perhaps a user-selectable option for controlling this behavior would be do-able?

Post by splinters // Oct 8, 2008, 3:26am

splinters
Total Posts: 4148
pic
Not ideal, but you can already do this by adjusting the wire frame mode of the object and the colours so you can see the selected object a la model side.


In desktop option in the stack choose Wire Highlight mode and set it to Objects rather than subobjects.


Is this what you meant?


EDIT: Just saw your post Jim, I see you already covered it. Oh well, at least this shows other users how to do it until a better solution is implemented.

Post by spacekdet // Oct 8, 2008, 6:15am

spacekdet
Total Posts: 1360
pic
You're missing my point...and while I also miss the old 'cage' widget, that isn't what I'm talking about.

This is:
15686

It's not the 3D view, it's the Scene View that lacks any indication of what is selected.
All this would be moot if they re-introduce the object selection via drop-down list function back into the Object Info panel. Then I could just use that to select any object on or off screen with one click/scroll, rather than opening a separate window and having to dig down through a tree.
It's a workflow thing.


BTW, I think wireframe highlight is another one of those things that should be turned on by default.

Awportals.com Account

Top Worlds

Upcoming Events

Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2019. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn