3dvisuals dude's Flying Saucer w/HUD

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

3dvisuals dude's Flying Saucer w/HUD // Scriptorium

1  2  3  4  5  6  |  

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Sep 22, 2007, 2:59pm

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
Actually if you are so inclined I was thinking of a side door that when opened would be like a ramp to floor. I may have a solution to exit Camera view inside UFO which would also include activating FPN mode. So when activated you could use FPN to walk out UFO. Idea would be to have a Use trigger to open hatch. Remember? "The day the earth stood still"


Outstanding! Sounds great!

And as far as The Day The Earth Stood Still," all I can say is...

"Klaatu....Nikto....Barrada!":D

I'm on it, thanks!:cool:

- Mark / 3dvisuals dude

Post by frootee // Sep 22, 2007, 4:22pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
what about scripting the length of the lander legs? From time = 0 to 10, sz = time; then, after time = 10, set sz = 10


I'd like to try that.


Froo

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Sep 22, 2007, 4:35pm

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
what about scripting the length of the lander legs? From time = 0 to 10, sz = time; then, after time = 10, set sz = 10

I'd like to try that.

Froo

That sounds great. Interesting idea and would definitely enable me to keep the polys down better. Can that be done without actually using a timer though?

Seems like everytime we use a timer in shared space we end up with a serious cpu hit and related 22-46K lag, which if you're also in FPN mode ends up being a whole lot bigger lag than that and more like 130% cpu use!

I do like the idea though so I hope there's a shared-space-friendly / non-timer-way to do it.

In another thread here I saw you mention having the mouse movement detected and having that movement initiate disabling of the joystick timer until mouse movement stopped. If that requires the "Mouse Listener" script in our libraries though, forget that idea... that particular script caused a 12 meg lag last Thursday night in shared space till we spotted it and killed it there. That's like me saying "Hi" and you hearing it 12 minutes later! LOL

- Mark / 3dvisuals dude

Post by frootee // Sep 22, 2007, 4:42pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
well, look at what trueblue does with the HUD. It detects mouse clicks (Widget Component). On a mouse click, we just disable the joystick timer.

the joystick also uses a timer.

To ensure similar timing on each person's machine, timing is necessary. But perhaps we can use a Wscript command to access the high resolution timer built into the CPU (server or users PC). But I wonder what network lag would do with this...

Or, if different timing on each person's pc isn't relevant, we can just use a loop and increment the length by a little bit each time through the loop. Maybe introduce a delay() function call in the loop to slow it down a bit.

Post by frootee // Sep 22, 2007, 4:53pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
here's just a quick thought on the leg with a timer.

I'll have to get a good understanding of loops in the LE. I've seen them but just need to understand them...


Froo

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Sep 22, 2007, 5:02pm

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
well, look at what trueblue does with the HUD. It detects mouse clicks (Widget Component). On a mouse click, we just disable the joystick timer.

the joystick also uses a timer.

To ensure similar timing on each person's machine, timing is necessary. But perhaps we can use a Wscript command to access the high resolution timer built into the CPU (server or users PC). But I wonder what network lag would do with this...

Or, if different timing on each person's pc isn't relevant, we can just use a loop and increment the length by a little bit each time through the loop. Maybe introduce a delay() function call in the loop to slow it down a bit.

Yeah, I'm inclined to believe the latter of those two approaches may be the best in the long run as far as timer use goes. I see what you mean now about trueBlue's method offering a good solution as well, a mouse click initiated timer disabler as opposed to a mouse movement initiated timer disabler. Food for deep thought, all of these.

As far as using the wscript commands to utilize the Windows System timer as opposed to the Caligari Server timer, unless I'm mistaken I don't believe it would lead to any significant difference in overall user cpu load. It could have a positive effect in reducing any timer-based Server load though, but as you point out there are wildcards there too which need to be tested.

Hmm... so many tests to make and so little time. I'm back to the Saucer Door Mod for now while I let all that ferment in my head some more.

- Mark / 3dvisuals dude

Post by frootee // Sep 22, 2007, 5:09pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
well, trueblue posted a paragraph from the manual about timers in SS.


There are two buttons: Take Control and Leave Control.


For Take Control, the timer works on your PC in SS. For Leave Control, the timer works on the server. I do not believe that the timer ALWAYS runs on the server in SS.


So, a simple test would be to compare the lag using these two options.

It seems that, if I want to fly a saucer, then I should perform timing on my PC. Same goes for other activities. Why would I want the server to run the timer for this type of activity?


OK. movie time...


later1

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Sep 22, 2007, 5:13pm

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
here's just a quick thought on the leg with a timer.
I'll have to get a good understanding of loops in the LE. I've seen them but just need to understand them...

Froo

Yep. Yours is better implemented than what I had in mind, but that's basically what I envisioned when you mentioned that. It would be a lot nicer to use in terms of adding functionality without unnecessary related polys. It's just the use of the timer I'm looking to avoid online.

Thanks for that though, I do need that code for offline use anyway.

I'm not a big fan of loops as opposed to timers but this may just be a case where we would be better off using one for now.

- Mark / 3dvisuals dude

Post by trueBlue // Sep 22, 2007, 5:15pm

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
Don't forget animation Frootee instead of timer but if you insist you could tap into timer that Joystick is using and kill two birds with one stone. Or you could use button/widget that either extends them or makes them Visible. Buttons and Widgets are so to cool. Anyway I figured out how to exit Camera view and enter FPN mode inside UFO. It is uploaded to tsportal 1111 This version is for Joystick as I have made alot of changes. Made buttons Constant color, removed buttons for moving UFO, and added button to exit Camera.
BTW. I have long range goals to use Animation in this scenario too. Lots of things could happen with this.
Question is and this is a scripting test, can you figure out how I did this? I am not saying a word. :)

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Sep 22, 2007, 5:19pm

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
well, trueblue posted a paragraph from the manual about timers in SS.

There are two buttons: Take Control and Leave Control.

For Take Control, the timer works on your PC in SS. For Leave Control, the timer works on the server. I do not believe that the timer ALWAYS runs on the server in SS.

So, a simple test would be to compare the lag using these two options.
It seems that, if I want to fly a saucer, then I should perform timing on my PC. Same goes for other activities. Why would I want the server to run the timer for this type of activity?

OK. movie time...

later1

I agree, more testing is needed on all of this to determine the full range of possibilities and limitations.

I saw in realtime the other night in shared space as I was in the LE looking at a script which utilized a timer, that just after I had unchecked the timer and left control manually the timer was immediately taken over by "Server." I had no idea what that meant at the time but the timer was off anyway.

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Sep 22, 2007, 5:23pm

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
Don't forget animation Frootee instead of timer but if you insist you could tap into timer that Joystick is using and kill two birds with one stone. Anyway I figured out how to exit Camera view and enter FPN mode inside Camera. It is uploaded to tsportal 1111
BTW. I have long range goals to use Animation in this scenario too. Lots of things could happen with this.

Wow. Now there'a an interesting way to approach it which I hadn't considered at all! Cool! Sounds like you've been mighty busy with this! Thanks!

Excellent on the long range goals too!

I'll pop into ts1111 and have a look see now!

Thanks!

- Mark / 3dvisuals dude

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Sep 22, 2007, 6:12pm

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
Don't forget animation Frootee instead of timer but if you insist you could tap into timer that Joystick is using and kill two birds with one stone. Or you could use button/widget that either extends them or makes them Visible. Buttons and Widgets are so to cool. Anyway I figured out how to exit Camera view and enter FPN mode inside UFO. It is uploaded to tsportal 1111 This version is for Joystick as I have made alot of changes. Made buttons Constant color, removed buttons for moving UFO, and added button to exit Camera.
BTW. I have long range goals to use Animation in this scenario too. Lots of things could happen with this.
Question is and this is a scripting test, can you figure out how I did this? I am not saying a word. :)

Hahahaha!!!!

My guess is that you used the macro recorder to determine the code for the perspective view camera icon and then used that code to set your perspective view button. That's what I would have tried first anyway! LOL

Beyond that.... wow. This is one of the most complex things I have ever studied in the LE! I was trying to determine why the boolean for the HUD invisibility seems to be off, or maybe it's just me, but the HUD cannot be seen this time on my system. I do see the crosshair, which toggles fine by the way, but all the HUD buttons are invisible to me and although the checkbox for that visibility will allow checking and unchecking, it has no effect on the visibility for me - it stays invisible whether checked or unchecked, even after reset. I examined every lower level node to that invisibility node as well but all were unchecked as should be the case.:confused:

Anyhow... this is absolutely awesome to look at. Without a working joystick at the moment that's about all I can do with it, but that's plenty for now anyway... this is way over my head at the moment! I like that though... get's my synapses firing!:D

Way nice work you've been putting in here. Thanks!

- Mark / 3dvisuals dude

Post by trueBlue // Sep 22, 2007, 6:21pm

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
Yes I had seen that in Shared Space too. I also seen the buttons do not highlight at first. Not sure what that is all about but it works flawlessly here offline.

Wrong answer I never use the Macro Recorder. Kidding Frootee ;)
I bet nobody can find out what the answer is.

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Sep 22, 2007, 6:32pm

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
Yes I had seen that in Shared Space too. I also seen the buttons do not highlight at first. Not sure what that is all about but it works flawlessly here offline.

Wrong answer I never use the Macro Recorder. Kidding Frootee ;)
I bet nobody can find out what the answer is.

Thanks guy... I thought it was just me! LOL

As for the answer I love a good mystery so I'll see what I can come up with but I'll bet Frootee will catch a glimpse of this test and wrestle with it like a pitbull until he has an answer on it! LOL!:D

I'm so new at this I can barely even grasp the question let alone the answer! I'll stay on it anyway though, at least it keeps my grey matter humming!:D

This really is cool, all this stuff you've done here. I have to dissect every part of it a piece at a time in my head from the bottom up to even start to see how all this can work together but that's good... better a crash course in my head than at 50,000 feet!!! LOL!

Way cool trueBlue... I can't wait to see Frootee take a stab at this now too!:D

Thanks! (Now I'm back to The Day The Earth Stood Still!;) )

- Mark / 3dvisuals dude

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Sep 22, 2007, 7:12pm

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
LOL!!!

Took me a few minutes but I figured it out!

I just exited the camera view inside the Saucer and entered FPN just fine. It was then that I spotted the "invisible" HUD arrows too... they were rotated out of camera view to the right and down!

I'll leave this for Frootee to wrestle with too though, what do you bet we end up with more than one way to do it?:)

I went to start modeling and that was stuck in my head like a nail... I just had to figure it out first. Good thing was I hadn't started a new scene since I had last locally cached the scene from shared space so I had a chance to play with it on my hard drive offline. Then it hit me.:D

Nice one!

- Mark / 3dvisuals dude

Post by trueBlue // Sep 22, 2007, 10:11pm

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
Ah now I see for whatever reason the FOV was resetting to 0.500. Errrr...Shared Space has a mind of it's own. Anyway I added a couple of commands to tackle that issue. I also cleaned up several items that were not needed for this Joystick version.

Post by Wigand // Sep 23, 2007, 9:35am

Wigand
Total Posts: 462
pic
Ah now I see for whatever reason the FOV was resetting to 0.500. Errrr...Shared Space has a mind of it's own. Anyway I added a couple of commands to tackle that issue. I also cleaned up several items that were not needed for this Joystick version.



I am asking myselfe, is there a buffer in the shared space (for the joystick values)?


Maybe you have seen the jumping of the joystick values.

For the axes it is normal, but I have these with the POV-Button too.

Then if I diconnect the saucer the reaction time is much faster, and

the jumping of the values stops. Then when I reconnect, the reaction

is ok and normal.

Maybe it is possible to clear the buffer?


Makes it sense to give the saucer switches to turn the mouse control off and on? Would the reaction be faster then?


What will happen if we have two or more joystick and saucer objects?

I think who takes control over the timer get the saucer, but will the joystick.dll handle this?


When I am in meeting room, I'm mostly alone :(

It's because of the time, I think I can never be with your thursday meetings.

Post by stan // Sep 23, 2007, 10:35am

stan
Total Posts: 1240
pic
Wigand, would the joystick work better if it was using the whole object as a camera then it could work with view widget commands linked to the joystick..
been trying to get trueblue's hud controlling view widget commands but haven't suceeded yet..

Post by 3dvisuals dude // Sep 24, 2007, 12:50am

3dvisuals dude
Total Posts: 1703
pic
Actually if you are so inclined I was thinking of a side door that when opened would be like a ramp to floor. I may have a solution to exit Camera view inside UFO which would also include activating FPN mode. So when activated you could use FPN to walk out UFO. Idea would be to have a Use trigger to open hatch. Remember? "The day the earth stood still"


Here you go trueBlue!:)

This needs scripting but is a lot nicer than the first version. I placed some object buttons in it which have a uvmapped face on them in case anyone wants to add text labels where the images now are. It has landing gear which is designed to be telescoped, and hinges for the dome and the folding doorway ramps. A little nicer and a has a lot more potential for functionality.

Hope you guys all like it...

- Mark / 3dvisuals dude

(The RsObj file follows the image below.)

Post by frootee // Sep 24, 2007, 4:44am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Hi wigand. what time would be convenient for you? At least one of us can try to coordinate with you..


When I tried my new joystick in SS the saucer kept spinning... not sure why.


Froo

Post by Wigand // Sep 24, 2007, 4:51am

Wigand
Total Posts: 462
pic
Hi wigand. what time would be convenient for you? At least one of us can try to coordinate with you..


When I tried my new joystick in SS the saucer kept spinning... not sure why.


Froo


I just came home from job now it is 16:53, I have 10 minutes to read in forums.

between 20:00 and 21:30 I have some time but not today.

I always have to decide it rapid. It is not easy:(


I connect button 3 and 4 to the pitch, it is for left and right spinning.

Post by Wigand // Sep 24, 2007, 4:53am

Wigand
Total Posts: 462
pic
Here you go trueBlue!:)



This needs scripting but is a lot nicer than the first version. I placed some object buttons in it which have a uvmapped face on them in case anyone wants to add text labels where the images now are. It has landing gear which is designed to be telescoped, and hinges for the dome and the folding doorway ramps. A little nicer and a has a lot more potential for functionality.



Hope you guys all like it...



- Mark / 3dvisuals dude



(The RsObj file follows the image below.)


This looks really great :jumpy:

Post by stan // Sep 24, 2007, 5:23am

stan
Total Posts: 1240
pic
I can now make the ufo operate via widget commands as a camera. I haven't converted the hud to widget yet, just make a portable widget that should be able to be used in tp as it can be imbedded into the object .if you guys are interested..

Post by trueBlue // Sep 24, 2007, 5:41am

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
stan: Sure I am interested.
3dvisual: I have not had a chance to look at new UFO version. First thing that comes to mind is the buttons. I found that buttons Encapsulated to UFO was problematic when looking around and that is why I went the way of a HUD that is Encapsulated with Camera.

Post by Norm // Sep 24, 2007, 5:43am

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
ok someone come up with a joystick looking widget :D that would take us 360 degrees :)

Post by frootee // Sep 24, 2007, 6:55am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
That sounds like a job for 3DV! :banana:


We need to make him a suit for his avatar with a Giant '3' on it!


Froo

Post by Wigand // Sep 24, 2007, 7:47am

Wigand
Total Posts: 462
pic
When I tried my new joystick in SS the saucer kept spinning... not sure why.


Froo


Try to disconnect UFO

run activity

start timer

reset button JoystickCtrl and POV_HUD_Control

reconnect UFO

de-reset buttons


sometimes it helps

Post by frootee // Sep 24, 2007, 8:01am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Thanks Wigand. I will try that tonight.

Also, I had to comment out the lines for the POV control. the error message was, my joystick did not support that functionality.


Is this an expected error? Is there something else I need to modify possibly, or do you think the joystick really does not have the capability? it does not have a 'thumb-hat' on it.


Froo

Post by Wigand // Sep 24, 2007, 10:20am

Wigand
Total Posts: 462
pic
Thanks Wigand. I will try that tonight.

Also, I had to comment out the lines for the POV control. the error message was, my joystick did not support that functionality.


Is this an expected error? Is there something else I need to modify possibly, or do you think the joystick really does not have the capability? it does not have a 'thumb-hat' on it.


Froo


If there is the need, I could implement error handling with messages.

Normaly it is necessary to test the device for its capability in the dll.

But I am lazy :cool:


You will find other problems too. My joystick is a 'Saitek Cyborg evo USB'.

I used DX7 with VB6 in the dll but I am not able to get the values of the twist axes.

If I would use higher DXs I think I would need to

test which DX is on the system and then use the best. Now with DX7 I

thought I am on the secure side. Many systems have the ability of DX7.


The better way would be the implementation of joysticks by Caligari developer.


If you get error messages, disconnect the POV_HUD.

Sadly you cannot tilt the ufo with a 'thumb-hat' .

But you can look inside of this object and there you see how I connected

the two buttons for spinning. Maybe you have some buttons, then

you can configurate you own system.

Post by frootee // Sep 24, 2007, 10:31am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
good point wigand. I was thinking I could add functionality for turning, and tilting, with the use of the buttons. I just wanted to make sure there wasn't something else going on that I should be aware of. But, just commenting out that one line made the error go away; while everything else seemed to work OK, except for the strange spinning in SS, which is why I asked originally. But, you answered that already.


Thanks!


froo
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2024. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn